Eston was laid down for the Shipping Controller by Goole Shipbuilding & Repairing Co., Goole, purchased by P&O and launched on 13 September 1919. A single screw was powered by a triple-expansion three-cylinder engine. The Eston was a dedicated cargo vessel with a capacity of 102,940 cubic feet (2,914 cubic metres). There was a crew of 21 and the ship was employed on the east coast feeder service.
On 27 January 1940 the Eston sailed up the coast from Southend in company with six other vessels as part of convoy FN.81. After calling at Hull the Eston fell behind the other vessels and made for Blyth, but soon disappeared. It was believed that the Eston had struck a mine on 28 January that had been laid by U-22. All 17 crew were lost, including the master.
|Dimensions||73.2 x 11.0 m (240.2 x 36.1 ft)|
The two boilers form the highest point of the wreck. The remains of the triple-expansion steam engine lies on its side, with various interesting features to explore. The bow has collapsed to just a few metres from the seabed but one of the anchors remains in place, along with a significant length of chain. The stern section is a short distance to the south-west of the engines and one of the props rests on the seabed close by.